Archive
Schedule

Sirius XM Public Radio

XM 121/Sirius 205

M-F 6 AM (ET)

M-F 7 AM

M-F 8 AM

M-F 9 AM

M-F 10 AM

M-F 2 PM

M-F 8 PM

M-F Midnight

(Previous day replay)

M-F 4 AM

M-F 5 AM

 

 

Bob Elsewhere

Subscribe to me on YouTube

Subscribe To Our Blog
« Khanna 'Hybrid Reality' | Main | Tina Boscha and This I Believe »
Saturday
Jul142012

This Weekend's Program

Bob Edwards Weekend, July 14-15, 2012

HOUR ONE:

Los Angeles Times columnist Doyle McManus joins Bob to discuss the latest political news.

Working in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carre, writer Alan Furst is the best-selling author of historical espionage thrillers.  His most recent book, Mission to Paris, follows a Hollywood actor-turned-secret-agent as he navigates the political intrigue of Paris in 1938.

Then, in this week’s installment of our ongoing series This I Believe, we hear the essay of Tina Boscha.  Being a stepmother is a tough job, and the portrayals in countless books and movies have not made it any easier. Boscha is doing her best to change the stereotype.  She loves her stepkids and experiences all the joys and frustrations of being a parent.

HOUR TWO:

Robert Santelli is the former CEO of the Experience Music Project in Seattle, and he currently heads the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. Santelli has also written several books about popular music. His latest is titled, This Land is Your Land: Woody Guthrie and the Journey of an American Folksong. The Grammy museum is partnering with the Woody Guthrie Foundation to observe Woody’s 100th birthday this year.  Guthrie was born on July 14, 1912.

For many years, Woody Guthrie’s daughter Nora has offered her father’s unpublished lyrics to musicians with an interest in setting his words to their music. The latest album in that effort is New Multitudes.  It’s a collaboration between four longtime friends with separate bands, working together for the first time. They are Jay Farrar, Will Johnson, Anders Parker, and Jim James. Bob talks with Jay Farrar and Anders Parker about the project.

Bob Edwards Weekend airs on Sirius XM Public Radio (XM 121, Sirius 205) Saturdays from 8-10 AM EST.

Visit Bob Edwards Weekend on PRI’s website to find local stations that air the program.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (1)

Dear Bob:

I was moved to tears and chills listening to Woody Guthrie's songs and their various renditions during your discussion with Bob Santelli. This has happened to me previously during listening to your work over the years, but only now I write to thank you.

The first time I heard Pete Seeger in person was at a UE (United Electrician, Radio and Electronic Workers Union) at the then-aging Roosevelt Hotel in NYC in 1984-5. I think it was with the Weavers (who was the marvelous woman singer with Pete and the Weavers then?). It was moving. The UE had long since thrown out of the AFL and the AFL-CIO for its alleged Communist ties; the federation had gone so far as to create a competing (for jurisdiction) union, the IUE, that was welcomed in the family of labor. Much of this has changed among labor organizations, happily (mostly), today.

Your work has consistently improved my world view. Thank you so much.

Michael Holland
Class of '65, St. Xavier High School, Louisville, Kentucky

July 15, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterMichael Holland

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>