This Weekend's Program

Bob Edwards Weekend, July 14-15, 2012


Los Angeles Times columnist Doyle McManus joins Bob to discuss the latest political news.

Working in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carre, writer Alan Furst is the best-selling author of historical espionage thrillers.  His most recent book, Mission to Paris, follows a Hollywood actor-turned-secret-agent as he navigates the political intrigue of Paris in 1938.

Then, in this week’s installment of our ongoing series This I Believe, we hear the essay of Tina Boscha.  Being a stepmother is a tough job, and the portrayals in countless books and movies have not made it any easier. Boscha is doing her best to change the stereotype.  She loves her stepkids and experiences all the joys and frustrations of being a parent.


Robert Santelli is the former CEO of the Experience Music Project in Seattle, and he currently heads the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. Santelli has also written several books about popular music. His latest is titled, This Land is Your Land: Woody Guthrie and the Journey of an American Folksong. The Grammy museum is partnering with the Woody Guthrie Foundation to observe Woody’s 100th birthday this year.  Guthrie was born on July 14, 1912.

For many years, Woody Guthrie’s daughter Nora has offered her father’s unpublished lyrics to musicians with an interest in setting his words to their music. The latest album in that effort is New Multitudes.  It’s a collaboration between four longtime friends with separate bands, working together for the first time. They are Jay Farrar, Will Johnson, Anders Parker, and Jim James. Bob talks with Jay Farrar and Anders Parker about the project.

Bob Edwards Weekend airs on Sirius XM Public Radio (XM 121, Sirius 205) Saturdays from 8-10 AM EST.

Visit Bob Edwards Weekend on PRI’s website to find local stations that air the program.